Nature and The Mind


Today was on of those days when I felt down, out, dejected, weak and everything that says tired. I expressed myself in a poem “Arise Woman” https://theladiesfeed.wordpress.com/2012/03/17/arise-woman-the-poem/ earlier on today and yes it did help but not as much as nature did.

There is something I’ve always notice a particular denomination doing and I must confess was judgmental about it. I know now though, it works and that is nature. I grew up by the sea and going to the beach was a norm for me. I appreciated the fun and leisure time spent with family but I did not appreciate nature as I should. I would watch, the stars, moon, mountainous scenes and say “wow” but still I did not appreciate nature as I should. What is the mind? The mind is the human consciousness that originates in the brain and is manifested especially in thought, perception, emotion, will, memory, and imagination (The Dictionary powered by Google). What is nature? Nature, in the broadest sense, is equivalent to the natural world, physical world, or material world. (The Dictionary powered by Google) The trees, the water, the sand, the animals and everything there-in makes up a perfect world and nature at it’s best. In the movie “Avatar”, the tribe connected with nature on such a high level and got responses. To many, it was just a movie but it’s also a reality. Nature is much more powerful than we could ever imagine. Think about it. God created everything. God is great and everything that he created is also great. That’s equivalent to nature being great as well.

As I explained earlier, I was so disconnected today and  so took a visit to the sea. There is no breeze like one that comes from a peaceful environment. One like a park, forest or the sea. As soon as I felt it,  my entire body went into a different frame of mind. The sand between my toes gave me a romantic feeling. It’s like I was falling in love with myself all over again. Then the water; If you have ever been baptized you would know what I mean when I say.. “The Holy Spirit came down and fill my soul”. Think I saw a dove flying away as well. 🙂 Just kidding but on a serious note, nature did something magnificent to me; something I never felt before. I came home feeling alive and rejuvenated. There are no words to explain the feeling. All I know is nature connected with my mind and performed a miracle. My previous feeling was gone.

I am saying this to you with great confidence, apart from all the counselling and therapy you go through to help bring change, try nature. Go to a place quiet and serene and see what happens. Talking to the trees does not make you a lunatic. Just you and a tree or you and the sand. Let it out. (If people see, they might say you are weird.) but it works. You may not be privileged to live close to the ocean but I am sure you live close to a park or lake. Try it. Try it. Try it. God created these things to bring life to us. Not only via physical food but also for emotional and spiritual food. When you do get the chance to do it, please respond and tell me what you think. If you did before, please share your story with me.

Reminder: Love God, love you and love life. Like my Facebook, follow me on twitter and share, share, share. Love you all. – Candace. 

3 thoughts on “Nature and The Mind

  1. I totally agree: nature always brings me back to center – no matter what is going on in my life:)) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. Thank you so much regarding giving everyone an update on this subject on your website. Please be aware that if a brand new post becomes available or if perhaps any modifications occur with the current submission, I would want to consider reading more and understanding how to make good using of those approaches you discuss. Thanks for your efforts and consideration of others by making your blog available.

  3. Reblogged this on Arise Woman and commented:

    Today is Saturday, a beautiful day to visit somewhere beautiful. Somewhere serene, where you can take time off from you busy schedule to connect with yourself and do some self loving and evaluating. Happy Saturday All 🙂

Leave a Reply

