Equality – Small Word; Big Meaning


When I hear the word equality, I immediately think of one cohesive body in action. However, for equality, the reality in society is that the meaning is done in an opposing action, thus we operate as separate beings. Hence my reason for saying, small word; big meaning. What is equality? According to dictionary powered by Google, it is “The state of being equal, esp. in status, rights, and opportunities.” Pay close attention to words used. STATUS, RIGHTS, OPPORTUNITIES and I will add as of lately JUSTICE.

Although I am a born and bred Trinbagonian, I pay attention to the international news. (Let me send my condolences to the Martin family and hope justice prevails.) When I saw the news of Trayvon Martin, I felt compelled to write because believe it or not, we are faced with race strata issues right here in the always mentioned “Beautiful Trinidad and Tobago”. Yes! We are cosmopolitan but still the colour of the skin and texture of the hair matters for jobs and anything about being in the for-front. As a child growing up, I was always taught that we were wonderfully made by God. We all share the same red blood, we all eat the same food. So why can’t we all get along?

Speaking from a production level, there are excellent businesses that are forever thriving and growing. I however believe that the production level in countries all over the world will increase, when thoughts of physical, ethical and spiritual segregation decreases. The time we take to scrutinize a person’s outer value and not see their truth worth, to me is time wasted and energy spent to do wrong. Life was created for us to live harmonious and in love. Something that seems impossible to do. The time we take to hate, is time we can use to asses ourselves and grow. I can’t stress how hurtful it is to me when I see and feel the brunt of this evil being called racism. Life is too short to be bombarded with unnecessary things like these.

Let’s learn to love one another and unite to conquer. We complain about so many things. How about uniting to change it. Let’s live the meaning of unity and make the world a better place. God always knows how to put a smile on our faces so lets trade places and do the same for him. If you are reading this blog and agree, please share. You can also share your thoughts on the topic and how you think we’ll be able to help curb and eventually stop racism.

To Ladies: Stop discriminating on each other. We differ physically but we are one in the same. WOMAN. Lets love each other like sisters and help each other grow.

Reminder: You are the head and not the tale, above and not beneath, despite how you look physically. Love you – Candace.

 

Leave a Reply

