Drowning The Inner Man


Mental battles can be equated with the  war in Iraq..lol. You may think I am crazy but think about it. According to the depth of frustration arising from mental battles, you can either go mad or die. You would hear people talk about depression and being on pills (which I am not a believer of). Psychologists would give many advice and for some, it works but for most it does not. Mental Battle is the same as “Drowning the Inner Man”.  That’s just my way of saying it. Issues are a daily thing in our lives. If I ever get the opportunity to meet someone who is issue or problem free, I would swear affidavits and change my name. Since I know, such person don’t exist, I will abide by Candace Cudjoe. 🙂 On a serious note though, we all have problems but some of them are brought on by us and can be avoided by us. I am not sure how many of you would believe this, but I believe our life is mostly internal and the external is the vessel to carry the life. Hence I always use the term “There is more to life than the external”.

When you lack knowledge of taking care of something, it usually deteriorates until there is no more to it. It’s the same way, when we pack problems upon problems, we slowly drown the inner man. NB: When I say man, I don’t mean masculine. Let me use my experience as an example. I am going to be honest and say, I have had and is still recovering from insecurities issues. I have conquered my external demons and is dealing with the internal, which is far more important. Like many women, I have been a slave to thinking the world of things are happening in my relationship, when it was not. I use to search phones (stopped. Thank God), look for body marks, be annoyed if the phone rings and it’s not a male, and worst of all, sit and put together cheating stories in my head. Many would say, I am just mad or paranoid. I would say, I was insecure. I turned to many people for help and nothing worked. Then I realized, I had to do it on my own. In acknowledging the problem, I soon came up with solutions. The main thing for me was to pray and read. I started asking God to strip me of my insecurities and allow me to truly love me, so I can love others. It was then and only then I realized, I was drowning the Inner Man. Since I was so wrapped up in negative thoughts, my entire body started to operate off of negativity and I soon became sour and lack of fun. My significant other would complain and I would think he is seeing someone and loosing interest in me, rather than I picking up on the main problem. The real me was drifting off. I was an empty vessel, moving around, thinking all is well with me. When I prayed and God started working and I was experiencing the change, then I knew it was me.

Sometimes, we complain and lament about certain issues but I think before we consider ourselves to be in depression and start the popping pills process, we need to ask God to help us in analyzing ourselves. The main reason for allowing God to be the lead of the process, is because when we search, we miss out things. Sometimes by mistake, sometimes on purpose. In doing so, we still won’t gain solidarity and the problem will seem gone but will prove to be there by bouncing back ten times harder and more painful. The bible states it clearly ( John 4:18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.) It is also stated in Philippians 4:6-9 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. I don’t need to add to that. Put your focus on God and he will help you in any situation. He will keep the Inner Man Afloat. I started reading “The Threshing Floor” by Juanita Bynum and that book has helped me in ways, I can’t explain.

So Ladies, stop drowning the inner man. Learn to love you and then love. If you are having problem doing it, the answer is right above in bold typing.

Reminder: Remember you are beautifully and wonderfully made by God. You are the head and not the tail. Like my Facebook page, follow me on twitter and share, share, share. Much Love – Candace

4 thoughts on “Drowning The Inner Man

  1. Lovely article but know that men have many of the very issues which you speak about and deal with the issues in different forms.

  2. Pingback: MyDragonNet | Claudia's Genocide Poem

  3. Reblogged this on Arise Woman and commented:

    If you are not consistent with self preservation, the old things you battle can rise to the service again. When we drown the inner man, he MUST remain dead.

Leave a Reply

