Greatest Respect Of All.


Before I expound upon the issue gripping my heart daily, I have to define the word respect for you. Although all are welcome to read and be inspired by this blog, today’s piece is particularly structured for women (No age barrier). So, “What is respect”? According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary;

Respect is a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements. Synonyms for this small word with such a huge meaning are, regard, esteem, reverence, deference, consideration,  honour, esteem, regard, venerate and revere.

Though “respect’ is a word commonly used in society and stands out when differentiating ranks, it is still in my opinion misunderstood. Misunderstood because, I can’t begin to fathom how someone can say they have respect for others but not respect themselves. Yes we all know the saying “respect is earned when it is given” but how can you give what you don’t have and expect to gain what you didn’t give. Today I received some pictures in an email that literally almost brought me to tears. My stomach felt “squeezy” and I felt sad to see the way the women in the photos delineated themselves. Is this what being a woman entails? Are you suppose to allow every nook and cranny of your body to be seen by the entire world? Now sadly, this is the world we are living in. We are fooled by what is presented by the media and thinks that if ‘Nicki Minaj” or “Beyonce” can wear next to nothing and be held in “high esteem”, then nothing is wrong with it. Don’t charge at me as yet. That was the mindset I was made up off. Initially I was not a lover of extremely short pants but after trying it out and loving the response I got from my male counterpart, there was nothing to hold me back from wearing it. I defined the word “Sexy”. However, now that I’ve awoken from my sleep and begin to analyse the way I was treated and spoken to, it is quite vivid, I didn’t gain respect. Why? I didn’t respect myself. Exactly what I gave off, is what I received. Having gone through that process, it is now safe to say, the greatest respect of all comes from “you to you”. Yes! Before you can think about respecting others, you have to respect yourself. Now this is not the only way disrespect can be shown to yourself. There are a lot more but I am just touching on one in this piece. (Give me feedback if you want a part 2). 

According to the definition of the word, you have to admire and hold yourself in great esteem for who you are as a person. Believe it or not, great achievement will follow and not only will you be achieved but happily achieved.

You see, in observation of different people, I have realized that even the most accomplished can be unhappy. This unhappiness arises out of lack for something. One of the greatest is respect. If having respect is being esteemed , then when you have a low self-esteem, what does that say? You have not respected yourself totally to accept who you are. You may refute this point and I am open to it, since we are all here to learn from each other. The fact however remains that, there is a great lost of respect among us as a people and among us as women. To my sisters, we were created with a great purpose. When God designed us, he thought of us as  role models, an outstanding figures (not shape), thus he gave us the gift of child-bearing. This is not something to take lightly. More than anyone in this world, we are suppose to respect ourselves without questions asked. Eyes are always on us and perceptions are constructed by what we do. What perceptions and values are you leaving behind or teaching the world at large? I don’t think many of us understand how powerful we are and our true purpose as women. We are suppose to be virtuous but that can only be emanated if we respect ourselves.  Proverbs 31: 10 – 31 (A must read) speaks about virtuous women. Don’t get caught up in the web that if your life was previously messed up, you can’t become a virtuous woman. God has already forgiven you for the mistakes and once he says you are washed clean, then its the beginning of a new life. So my sisters, let’s be mindful of what we portray when we say we are women. The word woman is powerful and we should live as positive powerful beings. You were wonderfully and fearfully made by God, so that in itself should urge you to respect yourself. Respect you and others will follow in your footsteps. Lets all live in the golden rule of “Greatest Respect of All Begins In Me”.

Reminder: You are the head and not the tail. Above and not under. If prayer or a word of encouragement is needed, feel free to send it to my email address arisewoman@gmailcom. Extra details are not needed and all information is confidential. There is no distance in prayer. Have Faith. Much Love – Candace

One thought on “Greatest Respect Of All.

  1. Pingback: Do you RESPECT YOURSELF? | Otrazhenie

Leave a Reply

