Distractions.


What is a distraction? According to Merriam-Webster, a distraction is a thing that prevents someone from giving full attention to something else. Yes, I agree. I would however look at  distractions as something even greater and deeper than what dictionaries explain it to be. When I think about distractions, I don’t only see what I am being distracted from but also what I am failing to accomplish or what is feeling the brunt of me not being FOCUS. I’m sure many people would say, well if you know that you NEED to be focus, then why don’t you just be FOCUS? Simple. Because it’s not that simple. The word distraction is such a small word and so easy to pronounce but happens to be a conglomeration of many negative elements. Elements that takes effect of our lives, without us even recognizing until we lose something. I actually found myself wondering why distractions exist and it brought me back to why evil exist. We all know the master mind of evil is the devil and his whole purpose as stated in John 10:10 – The thief(devil) comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I(God)  have come that they may have life,and have it to the full. So that, it is or can be considered an evil or negative factor and thus would emanate just what it is made of. Meaning, it will steal from us, destroy us slowly and eventually kill us.

I have come to the realization that when we lose focus on our goals, we simultaneously lose focus on our lives, leaving it exposed  to the battle field. Being focus does not only mean “having your head on” as we say but it also means, being at a certain level where you will be able to see things clearly. Your vision will not be blurred by outside elements (distractions) and you will be able to accomplish what was set before you and more. If this is so, then I think we will also be able to identify a distraction when it tries to raise its head and stop it in its tracks.

Yup. I see you.

Yup. I see you.

This is no easy thing to do but as I was reassured in Philippians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me; so though it’s not easy, it is doable. It’s a matter of having faith and standing on it. As small as it may be. Today I geared up myself, that upon reaching home, I would get a majority of my school work done and all this was about to change with one phone call. You know that time, when the conversation didn’t go as you wanted it to and then you sit there after hanging up the phone trying to analyse what happened, where things went wrong, if you said something silly etc. lol. I was about to head down that ally but then I realized that it would have thrown me off and what I was meant to accomplished would be lost. Success for a particular thing would have been stolen from me.

distractions

Acceptance to that distraction, just was not going to happen tonight. Proverbs 3:6 tells me – In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Although I did not kneel beside my bed or stood in a church, I called out to God to redirect my thoughts. I acknowledged his power and had faith that he will direct me back to what first interested me. I believe distractions are meant to destroy lives and even generations. It is just another method used by the enemy to captivate our minds which I believe is such a powerful system in our bodies. They usually comes in forms that attacks our weakest points but trusting God is the key to overcoming. When you deal with distractions, you are also dealing with your weaknesses, thus making the growth a two-fold reward. So the next time, you set yourself out to do something productive or that would yield fruit, be FOCUS or guard yourself because the distractions would be rushing in to steal that plan that brings happiness and joy. To enhance your guard, allow God to be the main man and you would see how smooth your weaknesses will be walked over. I know because that’s my testimony. I am not going to be unrealistic and say that things won’t bother or worry you. What would be the down fall is succumbing to these distractions. Resist the devil (and his DISTRACTIONS) and he will flee from you. 

BE FOCUS

BE FOCUS

Reminder: You are the head and not the tail. Above and not under. Everything you put your hands to will be successful. If you need someone to talk to pr pray for you, feel free to send me an email @ arisewoman@gmail.com. I would be happy to assist.

Plenty Love – Candace Cudjoe

6 thoughts on “Distractions.

  1. Pingback: The Devil is Still a Liar! « faith1stministry

  2. Pingback: Leadership Thought #262 – What’s The “One Thing” That Would Make All the Difference? « Ed Robinson's Blog

  3. Pingback: The Hurting Heart | Arise Woman

  4. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established
    blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty
    fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.

    Do you have any points or suggestions? Thank you

Leave a Reply

