The Provision


Oh the joy of living! That was my mindset until that day, when it all started disintegrating before my eyes. What was happening? No job, no money, renting and feeling empty; and what did I do to deal with such an inferior feeling? Started indulging in partying and because my associates were “party animals”, it was easy to get in free and be served alcohol by the glasses. It went from bad to worst because I was trying fill a void in my life. With that came the outer appearance to appeal the eyes of men. My dress code changed from what I would call normal to abnormal. Uncomfortable at first but by the first couple “hollas”, I was in the game. It’s amazing how you think, when you are blind. Other negative seeds were being planted on my soil and were rapidly bearing fruits. At first, I was feeling like a “big wheel” with the “Yea I’m causing that” mindset but when the reality of the self-crime hit me, I was crumbling just as rapidly. How did I really get here? If my parents only found out, they would be ashamed because this life is nothing close to what they taught me. Sad to say, though I had these thoughts and hated the way I was feeling, I got in deeper. I became addicted to certain things in my life and started using it as my “medication”. The more I did it, the higher I got. Maybe I can refer to it as the “weed effect” because I definitely had to be out of my mind to be living in that hemisphere and not coming down.

Everything about me changed. Even the new applications for friendship were coming from people I would now, not discriminate but not associate myself with. “Show me your friends and I’ll tell you who you are or who you will become”, is a true and powerful statement. Being a protected country girl, moving into the city, was both a good and bad thing for me. Now that I am over it, I can use my experiences to help others and that’s all due to God because I know, if his hands were not in my life, I would be dead. LITERALLY. How was this possible though? Church was my home away from home. My dad was and still is a Pastor, so how could I have ever reached such a low degree in my life? A question, I’ve pondered on but got the answer today. While doing devotions, Romans 13:13 – 14 stood out me as if the words were in bold and rose out of the bible.

Romans 13: 13 – 14 – Let was walk properly, as in the day. Not in revelry and drunkenness, not in lewdness and lust, not in strife and envy. But put on the Lord Jesus Christ and make no provision for the flesh to fulfill its lust.

feed-your-soul1

Look carefully at the first part of the verse (v 13). Pay attention to the words used and the command given to us not to walk in or partake of. My life was ordered by that list. Alcohol was my best friend, especially because I never got ridiculously drunk but “bubbly” tipsy, making me more the life of the party. How then did I expect my life to turn out, when I was making PROVISION for the flesh? Yes, (v 14), is my answer. “And make no provisions for the flesh to fulfill its lust”. When we say lust, we tend to only think of sexual desires but in my opinion, lusting after the flesh is “craving” or desiring for anything that is not of God. What is meant to provide? To provide is to supply or equip someone or something. When we provide for our families, it means that we are adding to their lives. If so, then we can clearly say that our lives emanate what it’s provided with. Hence I was at that point in my life. I made all the provisions for the flesh and not the Holy Spirit. What a revelation.

soul food

Often times we feel entangled and incarcerated by certain situations or habits in our lives and wonder how will we ever get out. We can start by changing “the provision” aspect. Think about a person getting into an accident and is given a five percent chance to walk again; what will happen if they do not start therapy? They will be bounded to a wheel chair for the rest of their lives. Why? Because they would not have accepted the opportunity provided to them to be made whole again, although hope was given. I know what you are thinking. What about when there is no hope? Well, there is nothing like no hope except for persons now in their graves. Hope lives around us. It’s for us to tap into the source of hope. The Hope of Nations. God. Romans 15:13 – May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. We provide ourselves with negative things, negative people and expect to live a positive life. Very impossible. The result depends on what was initially provided. “What you put in is what you get out”, another famous saying that is easily used but wisdom greatly missed. I was there, so I know it all too well. “The provision” factor isn’t only spiritual but social, financial ( Yes! Clean or dirty money), emotional and the list goes on. If you want to live a better healthier life, then you must provide yourself with the right “food”. What makes it more impacting is having the Lord, Jesus Christ in your life. You feel hopeless? You feel like your life has become so opaque and filled with scum that there is no point of return. I am here to tell you that, that’s furthest from the truth, you will ever hear. How do I know? Because I’ve been there. Corinthians 5:17 says – Whoever is a believer in Christ is a new creation. The old way of living has disappeared. A new way of living has come into existence.  And I feel new. My life now has meaning but this only happened when I let go and let God. A life without God is a man without oxygen. You will live but for a short while. Don’t lose heart. You can do it. God believes in you and so do I. There is greatness living inside of you. Start providing your mind, heart and soul with the right things and reap the right, ripe fruit.

images (1)

ARISE – If you are struggling with getting things right in your life or want to begin the change in providing your life with soul food, send me an email at arisewoman@gmail.com. I would love to agree with you in prayer and be a support system for you. Privacy and Confidentiality guaranteed. 

3 thoughts on “The Provision

  1. Pingback: Let there be no strife | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: ‘Made to Crave’: The power of choosing healthier options | Whole Woman Network

Leave a Reply

