Pillow Talk – The Mind


“Whatever dominates the mind, dominates the man”. A statement I’ve learned tonight and stashed into my inspiration collection. Although I know the mind to be powerful and have had personal extreme battles in there, I never thought of it so “scholarly” yet true in every sense. This statement caused me to reflect on what I would call my old life. Life before totally surrendering to Christ and even situations I would have faced recently. What encompassed my mind became my driving force. For example, recently I was faced with a heart matter. Day in, day out, my mind was on this person. I could not think clear. Every piece of me was dipped into the deep waters of that individual. It was so bad, when I close my eyes to pray, they were all I see. My prayer life was starting to dwindle because this person was now my focus. Thoughts of them were dominating my mind and life. Thank God for the great desire I have to know him more, I literally CRY OUT for help and he did help me but the process of letting those thoughts go was still tedious.

Instead of allowing my mind to be dominated by the things of Christ or as the bible says in Philippians 4: 8 – Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things; I was allowing myself to be saturated by both emotional and lustful thoughts. Don’t misconstrue me. Nothing is wrong with having “feelings” for someone or being a lover of something but when it dominates your life over Gods will for you, then it’s wrong. It’s just like a person saying they want God but goes after everything that’s not of him. Whatever you feed your soul with is what you will reap. My best advice would be to allow God to be the director of your life. You are guaranteed a life of joy, fun, peace, happiness, righteousness and the good list goes on. He says in Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. If you have to be dominated, be dominated by God. The answer to all your questions lies in him.

ARISE

Leave a Reply

