Pillow Talk: The Tongue


Proverbs 15: 2 – 4 – The tongue of the wise uses knowledge rightly, But the mouth of fools pours forth foolishness. The eyes of the Lord are in every place, Keeping watch on the evil and the good. A wholesome tongue is a tree of life, But perverseness in it breaks the spirit.

baby-boy-cover-mouthA verse that stood like a tall oak tree to me. As I always share with you, even though I blog about building one’s self, I too, am growing and day by day breaking off things that are not of Christ. One of those things happens to be PROPER USAGE OF THE TONGUE. We speak freely because we can. We just expound upon anything because the red flag in our mouth loves to wave. However, what do you speak? When you utter a sentence, is it perverse or building and uplifting to your peers? Last night I had a conversation with a friend and though it was not anything utterly disgraceful, I got up this morning thinking I should apologize for where the conversation went. Why? Because, to me and I guess the Holy Spirit as well, it was not as edifying but rather perverse and so I did. I released myself of the heavy burden of guilt and move forward learning my lesson.

Not because we are fortunate to speak, means that we should speak filt or anything perverse but whatever we do should bring glory to God. The little things we say should be able to gave a fallon person a smile. Think before you speak. And do not do like me, starting with the “great” opening line, “I know I shouldn’t say this BUT….” NO. NO BUTS. Do not say it if it’s not meant to be said or should not be said. Let’s all pay more attention to what comes out our mouth. Matthew 15:11 –  Not what goes into the mouth defiles a man; but what comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man.”

ARISE

 

Related Articles:

The Unrestrained Tongue

Less Waving Of The Red Flag

Leave a Reply

