Pillow Talk: Stand Firm For Your Standards


Have you ever been battled with upon the stance that you made for your life?  I think people who commit the act should automatically gain a slot in the marketing industry because they are so good at manipulating the mind to receive their service. If you are not solid and affirmative on what you believe, then you would be easily swept away without knowing what really happened. An issue of this very nature arose with a “friend” and I recently and I put “friend” in inverted commas because friends would not try to sway or persuade you to lower or disintegrate your standards for their selfish desires.

tumblr_mpvoi3Gs7i1qhmhdfo1_500

It was not always my stance not to date a guy who is not a Christian but in getting closer to God and reading his word, I was moved to be obedient to 2 Corinthians 6: 14 – Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness? In conversing with the young man, he tried to diminish my character by saying how frivolous and foolish he thought my stance was. Not only did he get disrespectful but in his brilliance, said that in life we will always be unequal until we work to make it equal. The closing line to that was “Just know I love you” and I had to laugh. Why? Because it was clear that he doesn’t understand the definition of love. Through all the insults and wheedling I stood my ground. I’ll be honest and say, I did get angry but thank God he has thought me a bit of self-control.

Young lady and young man, DON’T EVER let anyone try to diminish your character or standards by their meter. If you decided to be virtuous or uphold any good standard, then maintain that order. It won’t always be easy but it will be worth it. Take it from someone whose standards was rather low. Yes. It was. The personal standards I speak of now are what I found in Christ. A new me. A new slate and standards by the power of God I will defend. The conversation had me so appalled because I never had to go through such before. STAND FIRM FOR YOUR STANDARDS. Continue to keep yourself and God will place the right person in your path. Do not be swayed into believing that you are trying to be perfect. Stand tall and firm and do not allow their persuasive words to become a reality.

ARISE

5 thoughts on “Pillow Talk: Stand Firm For Your Standards

  1. Pingback: Pillow Talk: Reading Between The Lines | Arise Woman

  2. Pingback: Pillow Talk: Risk It For The End | Arise Woman

Leave a Reply

