SHARE YOUR VOICE: I Am Loved – The Story of an Over-comer of Abuse


Abuse can happen to anyone. In and out of the church. Here is the story of  someone who grew up in church but still went through emotional and mental abuse. She now understands that we have to surrender it all to God and he will take care of us and as such is sharing her story of abuse into recovery with you. Maybe the situation that you are going through is similar. I want you to know that if God did it for her and many others like this beautiful young lady, then he can do it for you. The road of ABUSE is not easy but there is a detour. A detour that has restoration and reformation for your life.
3910330063_2a712a0a95_z
I am single and now growing in Christ.  Even though I grew up in church I didn’t have  a solid rooted foundation, it was a routine but thank GOD something did stick while at church and GOD was always watching over me. I want young people to be cautious about who they let into their hearts.  Proverbs 4:23 “Keep your heart with all diligence, For out of it spring the issues of life” is a true saying. The choices we make affects us positively or negatively.
In my teens I fell in love with someone who I believed to be the love of my life.  This was the person I believed I would spend the rest of my life with.  In all honesty,  in retrospect that was me being naive because no young person in the mid teens have the right to be in that position.  This is where I left GOD off and decided to do things my way. The good of the relationship was good; the bad was BAD. I was with a person who didn’t have the grand love ideas I shared. In fact he was with me and others at the same time.  After two years of being together I probably broke up with him five times but kept going back. You see I had a low self-esteem and being with him made me feel good, important and happy with myself.  This is where I can say that this person became my god.  So where I should have realized that this was not a right relationship for me, I idolized this person and loved this person to the point where I kept going back and accepting anything I would get from him.  I remember once being told that I’m not beautiful, I’m stupid, paranoid (for confronting him about the other relationships) and eventually I did believe what I was told. I even felt that I needed to have sex with him to “keep him”.  After all I’m in love and I believe him to be my all.  At the age of 17 I contracted a venereal disease from him, at 18 I was pregnant and had an abortion.
This church girl was now laden with guilt and shame because I aborted the life that was in me.  And it didn’t stop there, I had two more abortions. And the devil has used this over and over to tell me why I am not worthy of GOD. My breakthrough came when I realized that my way wasn’t the best way.  And I came back to who I know now to be my first love.  How can I say that GOD loves me?  Me who was promiscuous, a fornicator and someone who had several abortions? Oh yes he does –  “John 3:16 – For GOD so loved the world that HE gave His only begotten son, that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life”.    Don’t say that “I have done so much, GOD wouldn’t want me” Oh yes HE does.  For all have sinned and fallen short of HIS glory – Romans 3:23. And as the scripture said GOD sent His son so that we could be saved.   He is a loving and forgiving GOD.  From the time you ask for forgiveness HE does and I am so grateful and thankful for that.
Do I still live a life, like I used to?  No I don’t. In fact my desire now is to live a life pleasing to GOD and wait for the person HE has for my life.  My other desire is that young people don’t get drawn into the life I lived.  Make Christ your first love.  Sin isn’t worth it, believe me, it messes you up.  However if you are where I was, do know that you can turn to GOD and be healed of your pains and hurts and HE will fill you with HIS love and HIS peace to live a life pleasing to HIM.  And be assured that He will bring the right person into your life at the right time. – Anonymous
tumblr_m0nvtscdwn1qjpieio1_500
ARISE – Maybe you are going through abuse or you are a recovered person. We would like you to SHARE YOUR VOICE. No names, no faces, just your story. Others are depending on you to ARISE and come out or make the first step to abuse recovery. You can send your story to arisewoman@gmail.com.
If you have a prayer request you can also send it to email address above and we will be happy to pray and believe God with and for you. If you wish to share a word of encouragement, you can do so on our Facebook page. God bless. 
Leave a Reply

