The Definition of Love


love-116a

When asked what love is or what’s the definition of love, so many palaverous definitions are given and somehow, the answer seems to have a glitch in it. In times like these, I tend to think, though overly studied, man still don’t know the true definition of love. I was however seeking answers for a question already dealt with in the BIBLE. I won’t say I am a moody person but I will confess that I have a anger problem from time to time. In rekindling my relationship with Christ, I have seen it come from an exorbitant place to one that is very infinitesimal but the little that is there, is very potent and at times would love to act up. Thank God I know to call on God. Yesterday was a day like that. I felt like running and screaming to the  top of my  lungs out of frustration in the office because everybody wanted and wanted now. The worker in me wanted to facilitate everyone at the time when they asked and because it felt so overwhelming I was beginning to get annoyed.

I rushed to the washroom and sat for a while in tears. I’ve learnt however, not to cry myself into depression but rather cry out to the Lord because I know he will answer me and so I did. I asked the Father for a peace that he promised in Philippians 4:7 but asking is not all. You also have to allow the Holy Spirit to work. If you asked but remain puffed up  (Which love does not), then he has no grounds to work on because the flesh continues to consume the mind with very awry thoughts. After trying to step back and let God take over, I resumed my duty and faith a smile until it genuinely came. On  my lunch break I decided to read and little did I know that God was preparing me for some scolding. The blog led me to the DEFINITION OF LOVE; 1 Corinthians 13. I kindly asked of you to read this short yet powerful chapter that can open your eyes beyond natural boundaries.

At first I chuckled but it kept hunting me and I read and read and read and read it again. Even when I got home, I picked up my bible and ran through the chapter yet another time. What hooked me was the first seven verses.

1 Corinthians 13: 1 – 3 – Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. 2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, 5 Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; 6 Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; 7 Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. 

Do you see what I am seeing?People who we would hold in high esteem (eg. prophets), even they, if they prophecy but there heart is cold and have no love, then it’s all in vain. My heart sank and I wept before the Lord for forgiveness. I do not want to be held accountable for a heart of no love. Why? Why must I, when I was asked to have a mind like Christ. If I am who I say I am then it must also entail love; the true definition. Those words in that chapter could not be more helpful to me. How often do we hold positions in the church or even call ourselves CHRISTIANS, AMBASSADORS FOR THE KINGDOM but holds our brothers or sisters in  our hearts? According to God himself, then all we do is of no count. Would you allow yourself to be thrown into a lake of fire because of your disobedience to the word? You won’t be able to blame the person you are holding unto because it’s all YOU. They may not even know how you feel and you are just sitting there in poison.

images (8)

It makes no sense slowly killing yourself and apart from that, God required a certain level of love from us. Once we learn love it can be transcended into every aspect of our lives. Not just friends, families or associates but also romantically. Society has redefine love into so many things that some of the traits God specifically said no to is subtly accepted today. Don’t be like me and wait to see it or be scolded for your ignorance. See it now. See the true definition of love in the word and make a vow with yourself to work on it, so that it can be part of you. There is no partial Christian. You are either in or out. Whats your choice? Would you love or not?

ARISE – Love is something we all want but becomes selective when giving and this should not be so. Are you struggling to forgive someone and love them? Send us a prayer request at arisewoman@gmail.com and we would be happy to agree with and for you for the change of heart. For true love to reign. God bless. 

4 thoughts on “The Definition of Love

  1. Pingback: Learning to Love | LOVE UNCONDITIONAL

  2. Pingback: Daily Digest: How Deep Is Your Love? | Arise Woman

  3. Pingback: Daily Digest: Being Filled With Words Still Makes You Empty If………. | Arise Woman

  4. Reblogged this on Arise Woman and commented:

    When I wrote this piece, I wrote from the view point of us loving one another but as I am reblogging, i am doing so from the stance of loving God. Do you know that you can be anointed for ministry for still don’t live in true love. The verses in 1 Corinthians 13 says it all. Prophesies can be done but that heart can have no love. I do not want to be fit for ministry only but I desire God more than anything else. It means I must love him and in doing so, I must be obedient to his every call.

Leave a Reply

