Daily Digest: How Is Your Giving?


2 Corinthians 9: 6  – 9   – But this I say: He who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and he who sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. So let each one give as he purposes in his heart,not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work. As it is written: “He has dispersed abroad, He has given to the poor; His righteousness endures forever.”

sunrise1

The most amount of time I’ve ever heard this verse was during  offering and tithes giving in church. So it was my belief that, that’s all it meant and every time I gave, I would do so cheerfully because God adores a cheerful giver. However, this morning I saw this verse in another light. When I see the word “giving”, I thought of my service to God. Not only in works but also in worship and spending quality time with him. You will reap as much as you sow meaning (in my opinion), if you put out very little in worship, so to will you reap very little of the anointing and that next level experience in Christ.

You may ask, “What about the cheerful part”? Do you know that there are people who pray out of a place of ritualistic living, and not because it’s our mandate and way of constant communication with the Father? Some may drop on their knees do a half – hearted prayer and still consider it, praying. This can be applied to other aspects of service, such as, leading worship, cleaning the church, joining the youth group to give out tracks and the list can go on. Is that cheerful giving when done with a stubborn heart? I think not. When we give to the enhancement of the Kingdom, we should be happy to do so because we are fulfilling the Fathers purpose.

However, my most pressing thought is not what we give but how much we give.  He who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, this is very deep and straight forward. It caused me to question my present state of giving in my communication with God. I see the need to give more, not to get more materialistically but rather spiritually. I’ve come to the understanding that when we give little, we get little and after a while rest in the Comfort Zone which brings a spiritual stagnant life. We then murmur and complain, questioning God. If he really wants to use us and why isn’t he. To answer that, we reap what we sow. If we don’t press in or squeeze, we can’t receive. Get water from the well without pumping. Quite impossible.

I thank God for his word because I see the need to give him even more than I do now. There is never enough giving to God because we are no where close to giving him what he gave us. How is your giving? Do you see the need to give more? I know I do. Give and it shall be added unto you.

ARISE – Are you struggling with your walk with God? Send us a prayer request at arisewoman@gmail.com and we will be happy to pray for you. God bless. 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Digest: How Is Your Giving?

  1. Pingback: Day 337: 2 Corinthians 8-10; The Cheerful Giver | Overisel Reformed Church

Leave a Reply

