Daily Digest: Fret Not Yourself


Psalm 37:7 – Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself…

The word “wait” is usually played with by saying “wait is a heavy load” and indeed sometimes it feels that way. However, I have come to realize that the best timing is Gods timing. This does not change the fact that at times, I worry and fret. For example, the roots of this piece lies in the fact that I was fretting. I did shed a couple tears before typing. What makes it more funny is that, I am not sure what brought it on. All I know is that it overpowered me and the tears began to flow. With the tears came other thoughts, causing more tears.

Then came the word of the Lord in which I found and continues to find comfort. I was reminded to rest in the Lord and to wait on him. Worrying or fretting does not appease the situation but only adds stress to the body. A stress the Lord can remove if we would just wait on him to finish his work. As you go through today, be reminded that God is in control and all you have to do is stand still and watch him work. I know, it is easier said than done but the truth remains that it can be done. Rest in him. Let the peace of Christ be in you, in Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

