Stopped In My Tracks – About The Renewed Project


A short while ago, I wrote about how excited I was to start tapping into some changes in my life. In order for you to get a better understanding of this  post, I will have to share with you, that one of the things needed working on was the reading of my emails, particularly for one of my email addresses. Sounds trivial but it happens to be more important than you might think and this piece explains why.

While getting this done, I came across an email that broke my heart. It was the cry of a dear brother and friend for help. The only help he wanted was my prayers. This email has been there for weeks and in seeing it now, I feel so torn. Yes, there were days I was unable to read all my emails but if only I would have implemented at least a five-minute a day to read, that email would have been opened long before and action taken. However, what really stood out to me was not the reading of the email but the helping of someone. We get so caught up in live at times, that we forget there are others around and someone is actually hurting more than we are. There was a number attached in the email and I immediately called. Unfortunately I did not get through but left an uplifting voice mail. You would not believe how much more accomplished I feel, knowing that I could help my dear friend in such a small way. It beats the excitement to move forward.

I can still indulge myself in the renewed project but one thing I should never forget, is to have a heart for people. In being renewed, my approach to others should also be renewed. No, I was not selfish because I always loved being there for others but this was a great reminder for me. The song by Mahalia Jackson says;

If I can help somebody, as I pass along,
If I can cheer somebody, with a word or song,
If I can show somebody, how they’re travelling wrong,
Then my living shall not be in vain.

Chorus:
My living shall not be in vain,
Then my living shall not be in vain
If I can help somebody, as I pass along,
Then my living shall not be in vain.

If I can do my duty, as a good man ought,
If I can bring back beauty, to a world up wrought,
If I can spread love’s message, as the Master taught,
Then my living shall not be in vain.

Not if I can fix me or get all that I want but if I can help somebody. I am not too sure if I was about to get so caught up in myself that I would have forgotten others but I am sure glad this happened. I am now bent on helping rejuvenate others, both inside and outside the world of blog readers, while transitioning myself. Isn’t God good? I love how and when he corrects and straighten out his own. Don’t forget to help somebody y’all.

ARISE!!

2 thoughts on “Stopped In My Tracks – About The Renewed Project

Leave a Reply

