Acceptance Brings Success – My Story


Lately I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about my life. Some things are not where I would like them to be. Somethings are not where it use to be and that makes me angry. Yes. Anger is okay but it’s how you deal with it. Anyhow, I decided to go back to the beginning and see what I sue to do that made me feel a little different to how I feel now. In my search, I came across this piece I wrote in 2012. Though I don’t model anymore, the principles still applies and I just needed to see this. It’s funny how your own words can come right back around to help you. Be encouraged 🙂

Arise Woman

I can’t begin to express how liberated I feel. For all of my teenage years I was a shame of who I am. My skin colour, height, hair, dentures and shape. Even before my body was fully developed I didn’t like it. As a child in junior school I was teased about my “Black Skin”. There was this particular instance where a classmate of mine held a black book bag against my skin and said look, they almost exact, causing the entire class to go off in laughter. (N.B: That person today wanted to manage my modelling career. Black me). I was filled with so much anger and hatred that as soon as I started earning my first dollar I purchased “skin bleaching creams”. It was my little secret to the world but to me I felt dejected even though I knew it would eventually work. After three bottles I found I was still to black…

View original post 769 more words

Leave a Reply

