Pillow Talk – No Sermon. Just Love


Opposition! The one thing I wanted to write about this evening but after a conversation with a friend, I decided to share on another issue. As I approached my peer to talk about a particular issue, she said, “No Sermon” and all I could have done was laugh. The defense mechanism went up immediately.

image

Why would this have happened? Simply because of the typical approach of mankind most times to a person they wish to address on any pressing issue. Society has conform us to judging vessels, that when we approach someone to converse, they see it as a mask to what we really want to do; JUDGE. I had to assure her that it was not a sermon but I was coming to her in love. The one thing that is so rare in these latter days. What is the sense of judging each other? What does it profit us? Absolutely nothing and I can say this because I once sat on the other side of the fence. I too use to judge people until I read in the word of God not to judge. It is also stated that the same measure I judge with, will be the same measure I will be judged by.

Matthew 7:2 AMP – For just as you judge and criticize and condemn others, you will be judged and criticized and condemned, and in accordance with the measure you [use to] deal out to others, it will be dealt out again to you.

People don’t need a sermon, they need love. Pure love. A simple word of encouragement can make a bigger impact than a sermon or judging. Love can cause a person to move more than any lengthy conversation that may cause them to think they are being judged. I know sometimes the burning desire to see people change can cause us to go to every length,even in advice but for most times love is needed more than plenteous words. Are you trying to help someone get their life together? What approach are you using? If its not the sporadic moments of words of encouragement but rather a lengthy sermon or the twist and turns if things don’t seem to be going right, then you may want to switch up. A genuine smile or simple words like “God loves you despite all the mess”, will break more barren grounds and spring forth a well of life and greatness in someone than any wordy expression would. Don’t preach, teach.

ARISE!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

